Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

Latin America and the Caribbean Environmental Agreement Sign at UN

United Nations, Sep 27 (Prensa Latina) Authorities from several countries in Latin America and the Caribbean signed the first environmental agreement for the region, which seeks to implement the rights of access to timely and reliable environmental information.

Better known as the Escazú Agreement, by the Costa Rican municipality where it was adopted on March 4, it is the only one of its kind in the world, on Access to Information, Public Participation and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters in and for the area.

This is an agreement 'made by us, for us and for the future generations. It is a visionary and unprecedented instrument, a second-generation environmental treaty because it explicitly links the environmental with human rights, 'explained executive secretary of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), Alicia Bárcena.

Likewise, Escazú advocates the promotion of public participation in decision-making regarding the environment of each individual and guarantees access to justice in matters of that nature.

This agreement also seeks to strengthen the capacities of each individual, promote cooperation and contribute to the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals of the 2030 Agenda.

The Escazú Agreement is achieved after two years of preparatory meetings (2012-2014) and nine meetings of the Business Committee (between 2014 and 2018), in which some foundation documents were adopted such as the road map, the action plan, and the priority lines in terms of capacity building and cooperation, just to mention a few.

The signature ceremony was headed by the Under-Secretary General for Legal Affairs and Legal Counsel of the entity, Miguel de Serpa Soares, supported by Epsy Campbell Barr, Vice President and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Worship of Costa Rica, the country where the Agreement was adopted.

Some of the signatories of this agreement are: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Uruguay.

This Thursday at the headquarters of the Open Society Foundation in New York will be the event 'Early Ratification of the Escazú Agreement: Regional action on environmental democracy to achieve the vision of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development', with the objective of promoting the dialogue and inspire countries to sign and implement the Agreement.

  • Countries: Latin America

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.