Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

ST. KITTS & NEVIS | Harris' Team Unity Sweeps Elections to win a second term

  • Written by Calvin G Brown - wiredja.com
  • Published in Politics
Featured Team Unity Leader and Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris Team Unity Leader and Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris
BASSETERRE, St. Kitts and Nevis, June 6, 2020 - From all indications, and although the count continues, the incumbent Team Unity administration of prime minister Dr Timothy Harris has secured enough seats to get a second term in office.

“We have a number of seats not yet called but the projections are that we will return to government with a substantial increase in the number of seats, Harris declared.”

Team Unity has won with PAM's Lindsay Grant (4); Pam's Shawn Richards (5); PLP's Timothy Harris (7); CCM's Mark Brantley (9); CCM's Eric Evelyn (10); CCM's Alexis Jeffers (11); PLP'sAkilah Byron Nisbett (3); and PAM's Jonel Powell (2).

Opposition Leader SKNLP's Dr. Denzil Douglas has won his seat (6).

He said projections show there will be new members of parliament coming from St. Kitts and Nevis. “Our projections are that among the new members are Alexis Jeffers out of Nevis, and Eric Evelyn.

According to Harris, “We will be having new candidates from St. Kitts joining officially as elected representatives, and  “Ambassador Jonel Powell will be returned as the official representative of Central Basseterre.

“We can comfortably and reasonably predict that senator Akilah Byron-Nisbett will be the next representative for West Basseterre.” He hailed the victory of Byron-Nisbett as a historic moment

“This will be history in the making. It will be the first time since adult suffrage that West Basseterre will leave the Labour Party. Equally significant Akilah Byron-Nisbett will be the first female elected by the West Basseterre constituency and join the ranks of only a few women to have made it to Parliament as elected representatives, ” Harris said.

The elections are being monitored by a CARICOM Election Observation Mission The three-member Mission is headed by Mr. Gasper Jean Baptiste, Chief Elections Officer of Saint Lucia, who has served as a member of CARICOM Election Observation Missions to other CARICOM Member States.   The other members of the Mission are:

  • H.E. Mr. Arley Gill (National of Grenada); and
  • Mr. Chester Arlington Humphrey (National of Grenada).

For CARICOM, election observation serves as a platform to support existing democratic traditions within the Caribbean Community as part of its wider policy of supporting democracy and good governance.

St Kitts and Nevis, have a total 11 constituencies, with 8 in St Kitts and 3 in Nevis. Any political outfit or coalition of several parties display the stronghold in 6 Parliament constituencies will hold the government of a twin-island nation.

 In the February 17, 2015 elections, The outgoing coalition (SKNLP and NRP) headed by Dr. Denzil Douglas secured 50.08% of votes but got only 4 seats, while the winning coalition (PAM, PLP and CCM) headed by Timothy Harris captured 7 seats with only 49.92% of votes.

From a population of 53-thousand, there are 48-thousand persons registered to vote, with between eight and nine thousand of these voters living overseas who were not be able to participate in these elections as the borders were closed due to COVID-19.

This is the first time since 1984 that these elections are being contested primarily on the resident vote.


  • Countries: St_Kitts_Nevis